Faq

How many textbooks have been translated and in what spheres?

At present 18 textbooks have been translated for students of higher education in philosophy, sociology, psychology, economics, management, religion, linguistics, cultural science, anthropolgy and journalism.  

Why these textbooks were only in human science?

Firstly, one mechanism of the program «Ruhani zhangyru» program is called «New Humanitarian Knowledge. 100 New Textbooks in the Kazakh Language». The President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev in his article said «We need not just engineers and doctors, but educated people who are able to understand modernity and the future well». The main focus is on the development of human science. Secondly, technical textbooks have been systematically translated within the framework of industrial and innovative development.

How many textbooks will be translated in 2018?

In 2018 we will translate 30 textbooks in philosophy, linguistics, semiotics, pedagogy, internet psychology, international law, diplomacy, journalism, history of art, economics and business.

How to find translated books or translation of books?

These textbooks are only for university students. They are not for sale yet. The first 18 books were published in 10 thousand editions and distributed to 110 universities in the country free of charge. At the moment, teachers, professors and specialists are preparing methodology for the introduction of new books in the education process of 2018-2019 academic year. At the same time, electronic online versions of textbooks were developed to make them available not just for students, but to all people. Everyone can download it on the website of the open university of Kazakhstan – openU.kz platform. Also, 20 minute video lectures collection based on each book have been provided.

How the textbooks were selected for translation?

More then 800 proposals from all educational institutions of the country were considered by a special commission created by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Several requirements were taken into account by selecting textbooks. Firstly,  a textbook should be in the curriculum of the 100 best universities of the world. Secondly, the book should be printed at least three times and the last edition should be published in the following three years. Thirdly, the textbook content should be neutral. Fourth, the book should include various interactive applications and video lectures, online courses.

From what languages the textbooks are translated?

16 books of the 18 were translated from English, one of them from French, and another one from Russian. Despite the fact that the translation of some books we have in Russian language, but the National Translation Bureau has focused on translating these textbooks directly from the original language.

Do you face with the lack of specialists who are fluent in foreign languages?

It depends on the discipline. There are many professionals who translate books in philosophy, sociology, psychology, economics spheres from English language into Kazakh language. However, there is a lack of qualified specialists in certain areas of human science. In this case, highly-qualified facuty members, scholars and translators, as well as editors work together.    

How much money do you spend on the translation of a textbook?

Translation of a page costs 7000 KZT: 3000 KZT to translator, 1500 KZT to science editor, 1500 KZT to literary editor, the rest to designer and desktop publisher specialist.

Can we take part in the «100 New Textbooks in the Kazakh Language» project and recommend textbooks to translate?

Everyone can recommend textbooks to translate into Kazakh language. If you have such textbooks to offer, then you should write a letter at 100kitap.kz web-site or to the personal page of the National Translation Bureau on Facebook. Your reccomendation will be send to the special commission. They will check if the textbooks correspond to the requirements.

Часто задаваемые вопросы

Сколько учебников и по каким направлениям переведено на данный момент?

На казахский язык уже переведены 18 учебников для студентов вузов по философии, социологии, психологии, экономике, менеджменту, религиоведению, лингвистике, культурологии, антропологии, журналистике.

Почему переводятся учебники только гуманитарного профиля?

Во-первых, один из механизмов реализации программы «Взгляд в будущее: Модернизация общественного сознания» называется «Новое гуманитарное знание. 100 новых учебников на казахском языке». Глава государства Нурсултан Назарбаев отметил, что нашему обществу нужны не только инженеры и медики, но и люди гуманитарного профиля, хорошо понимающие современность и будущее. То есть, упор сделан на развитие гуманитарной науки. Во-вторых, учебники по техническим дисциплинам уже продолжительное время в плановом порядке переводятся в рамках программы индустриально-инновационного развития.

Какие учебники и в каком количестве будут переведены в 2018 году?

В настоящее время ведется перевод 30 учебников по философии, языковедению, семиотике, педагогике, интернет-психологии, международному праву, дипломатии, журналистике, истории искусств, экономике и бизнесу.

Где можно приобрести  переведенные учебники?

Учебники предназначены для студентов вузов. Первые 18 учебников были отпечатаны тиражом в 10 тысяч экземпляров и бесплатно розданы в 110 высших учебных заведений страны. На данный момент преподаватели и профессора, специалисты данной отрасли работают над разработкой методики по внедрению новых учебников в образовательную программу 2018-2019 учебного года. Кроме того, на платформе Открытого университета Казахстана –  openU.kz разработана электронная версия этих учебников для использования не только студентами, но и всем населением.  

Как отбираются учебники для перевода?

Около 800 предложений, поступивших со всех образовательных учреждений страны, были рассмотрены специальной комиссией, созданной при Министерстве образования и науки РК. При выборе учебника учитывался ряд требований. Во-первых, одним из обязательных условий являлось то, что учебник должен был быть включен в учебную программу 100 лучших университетов мира. Во-вторых, книга должна была быть издана не менее трех раз, последнее издание - за последние 3 года. В-третьих, содержание учебника должно быть нейтральным. В-четвертых, учитывается наличие в учебнике различных интерактивных приложений и видеолекций, онлайн-курсов.

С какого языка были переведены учебники?

16 из 18 учебников с английского, один - с французского и еще один - с русского языка. Несмотря на то, что некоторые из этих книг имели версию на русском языке, Национальное бюро переводов предпочло производить перевод учебников с языка оригинала.

Ощущается ли нехватка специалистов, хорошо владеющих иностранными языками? 

Это зависит от предмета. Специалистов, занимающихся переводом литературы с английского языка на казахский в области философии, социологии, психологии и экономики, много. Однако ощущается нехватка специалистов в определенных сферах гуманитарных наук. В таких случаях совместно работают хорошо знающий тот или иной предмет ученый-преподаватель и переводчик, а также редактор, который может грамотно донести смысл текстов на казахский язык.

Каковы финансовые затраты на перевод одного учебника?

Стоимость перевода одной страницы – 7 000 тенге: 3 000 тенге – переводчику, 1500 тенге – научному редактору, 1500 тенге – литературному редактору, остальная часть предназначена для дизайнера и верстальщика.

Можем ли мы принять участие в проекте «100 новых учебников на казахском языке» и предложить учебник для перевода?

Любой человек может внести предложение по переводу учебника на казахский язык. Если у вас есть учебник для перевода, то вы можете воспользоваться обратной связью 100kitap.kz или же написать письмо на личной странице Национального бюро переводов в социальной сети Facebook. Мы отправим ваше предложение на рассмотрение специальной комиссии. Они проверят учебника на соответствие установленным требованиям.